Not just another day

If i thought  i was the only who had trouble making up her mind on almost everything, then the weather gods have certainly proved me wrong.The days are suprisingly warm, and then a sudden nip as the sun sets. Now again, the quilt on me is seeming too heavy to be of comfort.

There is a  lingering fragrance of chocolate, coffee, vanilla and warm spices from the last few days of baking in the house and on my person. Today was the big day. Had participated in a Christmas carnival at Mayoor school in Noida. And what a show it turned out to be! The team of mum n me, were sold out by 3pm. Gooey indulgent brownies, chunky chocochip muffins, the ever fashionable plain pound cake and plenty of chocolate cakes were whipped for the discerning crowd. But the best part of baking is what it does to people. Young and old alike, I am yet to find too many people whose pallates don’t tickle at the sight of fresh cakes. Ideally, I would love to bak on sight, to share some part of that magic with my customers, but alas the logistics of it. Not to mention that it takes 25-30 minutes to bake and another 15 minutes to cool and demould. For me, cakes are a part of my childhood memories. Once mum was done pouring the batter into the tin, then i had complete autonomy over the whisking bowls. I would happily lick away leftover batter. i still believe if you can lick it raw and enjoy it, chance are its going to be just fine when done. Its not short of magic how you put in wet batter – a lil bit of this n a lil bit of that and with some time, it transforms into a fluffy, soft, slightly moist thing worthy of praise. Sometimes i catch myself sitting in front of the oven, staring at the batter, taking in the fragrance, almost mesmerised by its beauty.

Tomorrow is another day and i have a long to do list. Better part of the day is blocked for my foot reflexology sessions. Then, later its back to whipping up some more treats for Christmas.

About Namita

A melange of colors, just like the rainbow. Sometimes, as bright as the yellow sun, brimming with energy. Then driven by the passion of red to pursue my dreams. Calm like the clear blue skies and playful like streaks of violets. I am a collection of stories, each different and yet the same. I am simple in my complexities and something in my nothingness. For my bread and butter, I am a reflexologist – a profession which is more than just a job, it is my passion. When I am not busy in conversation with the feet, I potter around with my camera lens, indulge in good music and snuggle in with my books. And when my energies begin running low, nothing perks me more than traveling to unknown places, meeting all sorts of people and exchanging tall stories. I am a founding trustee of the Uday Public Charitable Trust that hopes to provide the gift of education to children of martyred soldiers and also other deserving children. It is a cause close to my heart. My gypsy heart cannot sit still and I must always move, explore…The mountains call out ever so often and I am off with my backpack. Trek, trek, trek…I want to push my limits always..rediscover my fears and move forward with my strengths. i love myself and my life, I must be god’s favorite child . With much to do and much to see, i am on the brink of another journey, always.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

