A direction is a direction

Prior to my latest avataar as a reflexologist, I was consulting with a firm on social media marketing. As part of my assignment, I was tasked with categorising Indian blogs based on focus of the blog, blogger interests..etc..etc.The idea was to create a comprehensive database of bloggers who could be approached by brands for their social media marketing needs.

Well, I spent countless hours reading all sorts of blogs. Blogs on technology, fashion, dating, Page 3, collegiate gossip, girly stuff, bikers, hobby writers, marketing blogs, advertising blogs, media and celebrity blogs. You name it and I had read it.  That we were in a hurry to generate a huge database did not help matters. Most of the blogs I scanned then seemed to be random, with no particular focus. Interests and profiles were sketchy, often leaving you to grope in the dark. After hours and hours of reading, we would often end up with only very few names to show for the day’s work. I was at a  loss trying to  understand why people wouldn’t sticking to writing about any one thing…

Some months later, I formally hung up my boots from the corporate world and began my practice of reflexology in full earnest. In between, I decided to start writing a blog. I had lost too much of my sanity and as the air began to clear, a part of me was ready to enter the world of blogging.

That was then and this is now..I have been blogging for some time now.  I write on a variety of subjects and issues close to my heart; sometimes very trivial stuff.  It is no suprise then that recently a well meaning, close friend and a very serious blogger counseled me  on finding some focus on my blogs. I wasn’t consistent or regular..It was personal…blah..blah…blah.

The truth is I am happy just to find expression. This little space, my virtual home has a reason for its existence. Its reason is me. With it, for the first time probably I have come from behind the veils and exposed the being within. From this little window, I connect to the world outside and share;  sometimes a smile, occasionally a tear. There is always someone here listening, someone with time. There are great stories to be narrated, many experiences to be told, everyone has something to contribute and together, we have undertaken fascinating journeys. Physical boundaries have ceased to exist when we gang up and take a dig; and new kinship is found when a worthy cause calls forward. Out here, I have forged many new friendships, discovered facets of existing ones. 

 There are no edit marks here, no one telling me, “It’s nice, but you can improve this”. Bullshit! No longer.

I write when I have something to share, something to say. It always cheers me up when someone reads and writes back. So Raj drops in a line to point out a spell error; Prashant oftens leaves a comment; Poonam pings me personally; Meenu is gracious with compliments for my pics; Geetika is annoyed when I write about things to personal and most of all complete strangers sometimes pen in and say, thank you…

Then, is there a need any further…

About Namita

A melange of colors, just like the rainbow. Sometimes, as bright as the yellow sun, brimming with energy. Then driven by the passion of red to pursue my dreams. Calm like the clear blue skies and playful like streaks of violets. I am a collection of stories, each different and yet the same. I am simple in my complexities and something in my nothingness. For my bread and butter, I am a reflexologist – a profession which is more than just a job, it is my passion. When I am not busy in conversation with the feet, I potter around with my camera lens, indulge in good music and snuggle in with my books. And when my energies begin running low, nothing perks me more than traveling to unknown places, meeting all sorts of people and exchanging tall stories. I am a founding trustee of the Uday Public Charitable Trust that hopes to provide the gift of education to children of martyred soldiers and also other deserving children. It is a cause close to my heart. My gypsy heart cannot sit still and I must always move, explore…The mountains call out ever so often and I am off with my backpack. Trek, trek, trek…I want to push my limits always..rediscover my fears and move forward with my strengths. i love myself and my life, I must be god’s favorite child . With much to do and much to see, i am on the brink of another journey, always.
This entry was posted in Musings, people and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A direction is a direction

  1. Raj says:

    Thanks Namita.
    More power to your pen (or, if I dare say keyboard)!

  2. Lakshmi says:

    H`lo
    I saw your post on Indiamike . I am planning to trek in Arunachal Pradesh in Oct/ Nov 2009 in a remote area in Upper Siang. Would you be interested in joing me or are you very serious about going ‘solo’?

    • Namita says:

      Hey Lakshmi. I am absolutely glad to explore. Where in Arunachal are you planning to go? Lets discuss time and dates? I must admit, I hate leeches though. Which parts of AP are you planning to explore? I visited Gelling four years ago and fell in love. Send me your email id and lets connect. something wrong with my Indiamike account

  3. Lakshmi says:

    H`lo Namitha
    My mail ID is LKMR@Novozymes.com. I will be trekking in the Upper Siang district around Tuting, in the region called Pemako. The whole program lasts a month. Do send me your mail ID too, as I cannot access these general websites on a regular basis due to official restrictions.

Leave a Reply

