Journey of body and mind

It is a fascinating journey that I have embarked on. There is constant change, perpetual movement that allows the mind to think anew each time. Of course, it wasn’t always like this and it has taken me a great deal of years to finally find a worthwhile path to tread on.

My tryst with it started three years ago. I was sitting in my first reflexology class, with my namesake Namita narrating facts about our bodies and minds. It made for an intriguing story, akin to good fiction. Every part, organ of the body is assigned a role and the interplay between various elements is what brings the story called ‘ life’ together. Mostly always, the mind plays a devious, cunning role, sometimes undoing all the good that the other bodily communities are doing.

Think about it. There is a whole world, or in micro terms an entire city residing within each of us. Every cell is an individual entity by itself. It is capable of processing thought; storing memory dating back millions of years; and initiating action when required. The cells form larger communities, based on their work, known as organs. Collectively, these work towards contributing their share and from here on there is an entire system, grouped together based on attributes and functions. Of course, cohesion is of the greatest value in the smooth running of this plan. So while they live together, they all mind their own business. Highly organised, superbly efficient and simply intelligent, these being within us coexist and build a life form so potent that no technology under the sun has ever been able to replicate it.

Today research is indicating that every generation leaves genetic impressions on the following generation, even with the simple act of thinking and behaving in certain patterns when the child was developing in the womb. Every cell holds a repository of wisdom, that have allowed us to effortlessly make associations, even in novel situations. In real terms, therefore, our chronological age is inconsequential because every individual houses the wisdom of many millions of years of evolution.

In reflexology we learn the intimate relation between the lower and upper part of our body. Since we were supposed to b quadripeds, the upper limbs of our bodies are a mirror image of our lower limbs.

For example- if you have chronic hip trouble, chances are that you will have some amount of discomfort in the corresponding shoulder. The same is true for your ankle and wrist.

Try this next time – if you sprain your ankle, feel around the corresponding wrist and you will areas of tenderness on the wrist as well.

Every system in the body has a back up. It is designed to understand and make sense of individual imperfections. If you drink less water constantly, your body will gear itself to keeping you alive despite the shortage.

I could go on endlessly…intrigued as I am by what I constantly discover. On a deeper level too, often the answers to our troubles, those nagging little stems of self doubt can be found if only we choose to open the pathway of dialogue betwen the inner being and the being we are are often trying to be for the benefit of society, family… Disconnected from within, we seek to find meaning in the physical world..But it can never be.

There is a great deal to learn..there is a great deal to give..there is always potential for less, and there is always potential for more..there is time for rest and therefore there is always time to work..

I am still discovering, still finding my way. My geography of my own body is enriched every day and still i know there is only the start line, the finish…i hope it doesn’t come.

About Namita

A melange of colors, just like the rainbow. Sometimes, as bright as the yellow sun, brimming with energy. Then driven by the passion of red to pursue my dreams. Calm like the clear blue skies and playful like streaks of violets. I am a collection of stories, each different and yet the same. I am simple in my complexities and something in my nothingness. For my bread and butter, I am a reflexologist – a profession which is more than just a job, it is my passion. When I am not busy in conversation with the feet, I potter around with my camera lens, indulge in good music and snuggle in with my books. And when my energies begin running low, nothing perks me more than traveling to unknown places, meeting all sorts of people and exchanging tall stories. I am a founding trustee of the Uday Public Charitable Trust that hopes to provide the gift of education to children of martyred soldiers and also other deserving children. It is a cause close to my heart. My gypsy heart cannot sit still and I must always move, explore…The mountains call out ever so often and I am off with my backpack. Trek, trek, trek…I want to push my limits always..rediscover my fears and move forward with my strengths. i love myself and my life, I must be god’s favorite child . With much to do and much to see, i am on the brink of another journey, always.
This entry was posted in Reflexology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Journey of body and mind

  1. seema says:

    nikks, this is amazingly well written

Leave a Reply

