Who is she…

She sat quietly in the background. It would be her time soon. By now she knew the routine.  Decades and decades had gone past, but for her nothing changed. As the morning sun began to fade, and the dance of  colors took over the sky; her time was approaching. Slowly, she began to dress.

Her movements were slow, and deliberate. Her dark, long tresses clung to her body well below her hips, like a possessive lover. Her hair wasn’t straight, it flowed like gentle ripples in the ocean. She wasn’t fair, more dusky, with an oval face. Deep set eyes stared at the world, drowning them in those black pools. The hint of a smile curved the corners of her mouth, drawing her lips into a pout. Her lithe frame held the grace of a big cat, but her demeanor bespoke gentle calm.  Long slender fingers attached to arms of silky smoothness. Tall with a beautifully straight back, almost like she could touch the sky with the simple act of extending her arms. Her body seemed sculpted, for this perfection of form seemed impossible.

She was real, but everything about her seemed surreal. Everyone saw her, but no one could touch her.

As always, she took out her long, flowy black gown. It was her second skin and it gently embraced her with contact, enveloping her in its darkness. Her feet were always bare, but bore no marks of ageing. Ugliness was alien to her. She wore no make up, only a simple kajal and mascara each night befor she left. Her lips and cheeks left bare. She needed nothing.

She was an enigma. No one could ignore her. When they looked, and everybody did; they only noticed the serene calm about her; an undescribable glow; an energy that lingered on even after she left; a promise that she would return yet again…and again.

And then, it was time. Time for her to emerge from behind the curtains. She entered quietly, without a sound..no one ever noticed as she crept in. The sun was gone, the sky had lost its colors..Shadows began to fall and lengthen. Slowly, she loosened her veil, her tresses tumbling softly down. Everyone looked up, mesmerised; incapable of thought. She was all that existed…

Who is she….you ask?

She is the night….

About Namita

A melange of colors, just like the rainbow. Sometimes, as bright as the yellow sun, brimming with energy. Then driven by the passion of red to pursue my dreams. Calm like the clear blue skies and playful like streaks of violets. I am a collection of stories, each different and yet the same. I am simple in my complexities and something in my nothingness. For my bread and butter, I am a reflexologist – a profession which is more than just a job, it is my passion. When I am not busy in conversation with the feet, I potter around with my camera lens, indulge in good music and snuggle in with my books. And when my energies begin running low, nothing perks me more than traveling to unknown places, meeting all sorts of people and exchanging tall stories. I am a founding trustee of the Uday Public Charitable Trust that hopes to provide the gift of education to children of martyred soldiers and also other deserving children. It is a cause close to my heart. My gypsy heart cannot sit still and I must always move, explore…The mountains call out ever so often and I am off with my backpack. Trek, trek, trek…I want to push my limits always..rediscover my fears and move forward with my strengths. i love myself and my life, I must be god’s favorite child . With much to do and much to see, i am on the brink of another journey, always.
This entry was posted in Musings, people. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

