Kindly leave Battle outside the door

Working the feet is my profession. Often, in people’s  description of the problem, I find a common companion – ” Battle”. Most people would bring it in, one way or the other, like

– I have been battling this cold for years

– My mind never stops talking. I battle it constantly but to no avail.

– I am trying hard to battle with my illness, but it’s no better

The truth is, you never will win this battle. I have an aversion to this word, especially when we use it in context of ourselves. Think of it, some millions of years ago, the process of human evolution began. We graduated from being quadrupeds to bipeds; we mastered the art of survival and most importantly, began to engage our minds to think.

This intelligence or innate wisdom is our inheritance from the early ages. It is a part of my genes as much as it is yours. Having come this far, it stand to logic that the human machinery must be doing things right to come this far.

Now, cut to your present day life. Do you possibly stand a chance of winning faced against million year old intelligence? And why battle? It is your own. Why do we tend to look at our bodies as foreign, the moment they begin to get cranky? Have you stroked your belly and given it comfort when it is paining? Have you ever told it, it will be ok.

The trick is in befriending every part of your body. In listening to what it has to say, like you would to your best friend. Heed to its advice sometimes, it may keep you from ill health. Give it positive encouragement, when it is feeling down and under. Hold its hand and help it up when the incline is too steep and the sack to heavy. When you do that, your body will become you. So will your mind. We are not separated, except in our thought process.

In my sanctum, battle is requested to stay out and when you enter this space, leave him out.

About Namita

A melange of colors, just like the rainbow. Sometimes, as bright as the yellow sun, brimming with energy. Then driven by the passion of red to pursue my dreams. Calm like the clear blue skies and playful like streaks of violets. I am a collection of stories, each different and yet the same. I am simple in my complexities and something in my nothingness. For my bread and butter, I am a reflexologist – a profession which is more than just a job, it is my passion. When I am not busy in conversation with the feet, I potter around with my camera lens, indulge in good music and snuggle in with my books. And when my energies begin running low, nothing perks me more than traveling to unknown places, meeting all sorts of people and exchanging tall stories. I am a founding trustee of the Uday Public Charitable Trust that hopes to provide the gift of education to children of martyred soldiers and also other deserving children. It is a cause close to my heart. My gypsy heart cannot sit still and I must always move, explore…The mountains call out ever so often and I am off with my backpack. Trek, trek, trek…I want to push my limits always..rediscover my fears and move forward with my strengths. i love myself and my life, I must be god’s favorite child . With much to do and much to see, i am on the brink of another journey, always.
This entry was posted in Reflexology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

