I am at the core

It seems to the time of year when imbalances are at peak. Many people I know are suffering from some form of illness, either minor or major. Then, Holi in between also played its part. Change in season has a significant effect on our bodily rhythms and most often, symptoms like irregular sleep, flu, fever, poor digestion are observed. Whatever may be the cause of illness, there is one thing common to all illness – the human being himself/herself.

If we were to discount congenital, hereditary or even autoimmune disorders, most other ailments come about because of our own actions. Faulty eating, inability to cope with stress, emotional upheavals, expectations, disappointments, lack of discipline, fear, lack of exercise, over indulgence…In short, we are totally clued out with ourselves. If we recognise and accept this, then the responsibility of health also becomes a personal responsibility and not the task of an outsider. A doctor can give antidepressants, a dietician can recommend eating habits, a counselor can guide you in the process of breaking old patterns, but nothing will change if we don’t.

Our increasing dependence on allopath, or the practice of popping a pill for every mild pain is a reflection of our attitudes. It is a reflection of what and how we want things in life. Quick, easy and effortless. It is not to say, I am against allopathy. I believe it is a necessary and beneficial part of healthcare, often allowing us an inside view. I am merely against the notion that someone else can cure us. When people come to me for  a session, there are two fundamental truths I explain before we begin – one, that if you have reached till here, then your body is already on the path to change. Second, I will do the work I know to the best of my ability, but healing is your own responsibility. Only your participation and an active recognition of yourself will bring about changes that are lasting.

I can say this with confidence because of ailments I have suffered. I went to all forms of doctors and healers, got better but the problem never went away. I believe this was due to my inability to accept, look within and reform where required. As I went down that path, my health improved. Not only that, but I am a different person today; constantly attempting to tune my energies with my real self, trusting in my mind and body’s intelligence to keep me in balance. It doesn’t always happen and I have my bad days too. What has probably changed is my perspective to it. I understand it, accept it and move with it.

So it is true for each of us. Caught in the quagmire of daily living, we often forget to look ourselves in the mirror and recognise the image in front of us. We look for possible scapegoats, squarely placing the blame on someoone else for our condition. That we are not happy because

– someone we love does not love us back the same way

– we are having to do work we do not like

– too much responsibility and little help

– we did not get what we wanted in life

– underwent a trauma so deep that we continue to remain embittered by it

……The list is endless. These are all circumstantial and the centre of all this is still you. If we can only be truthful to oursleves and learn to accept that we are not always as good, as perfect or even as complex as we make ourselves to be, we will be happier. We are all different but we are also all the same. I am at the centre of my being and when the core is heeaed, everything else shall.

About Namita

A melange of colors, just like the rainbow. Sometimes, as bright as the yellow sun, brimming with energy. Then driven by the passion of red to pursue my dreams. Calm like the clear blue skies and playful like streaks of violets. I am a collection of stories, each different and yet the same. I am simple in my complexities and something in my nothingness. For my bread and butter, I am a reflexologist – a profession which is more than just a job, it is my passion. When I am not busy in conversation with the feet, I potter around with my camera lens, indulge in good music and snuggle in with my books. And when my energies begin running low, nothing perks me more than traveling to unknown places, meeting all sorts of people and exchanging tall stories. I am a founding trustee of the Uday Public Charitable Trust that hopes to provide the gift of education to children of martyred soldiers and also other deserving children. It is a cause close to my heart. My gypsy heart cannot sit still and I must always move, explore…The mountains call out ever so often and I am off with my backpack. Trek, trek, trek…I want to push my limits always..rediscover my fears and move forward with my strengths. i love myself and my life, I must be god’s favorite child . With much to do and much to see, i am on the brink of another journey, always.
This entry was posted in Musings, Reflexology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

