Reza’s Rollercoaster Ride

Name: M Reza Beg

Personal nitty gritties: Handsome, fair with light grey eyes and a dimpled smile.

Industry: Aviation; has flown some of the best aircrafts with leading aviation giants. Currently, however, he is busy flying on his own tangent, making a new world definition

Assets: Owns a ‘sea view’ apartment in the posh Bandra west locality.

Interests: Skydiving, trekking, rollerblading, cycling……Anything to get the adrenaline rushing

Next big project: To cover the entire length of the Silk Route, all 18000 kms of it in a 4×4 and bikes.

More about…..: He can jive and he can mambo, his smooth moves sure to catch attention. Witty, with a sense of humour. When he isn’t swooning the ladies on the floor, he makes quite an impression with his immaculate English, delivered in full ishtyle. Charm and chivalry, grace and style – Reza is a power packed punch!

Eligible and ready for the taking??????????

Sorry ladies, this too good to be true, the charming man is all taken 😦 .

They just don’t make men like that anymore. And the ones that do get made, don’t continue to stay this way all the way till their 70th birthday!

I first met Reza at his son’s wedding in Delhi. Reza and Satya have known each other for many years and I had heard of all his daredevilry on countless occasions. Reza was dressed in his finest – a creme and gold sherwani matched with an elaborate ‘pagdi’ . His full attention on capturing every part of the reception on his handy cam – with bytes from the chefs grilling kebabs to guests whose names he did not know. Everyone was duly captured! After that, Reza and I have spoken many times and the time when Satya was away at the Poles, Reza’s witty remarks lightened up the trying times.

The thing with Reza is that he is always having fun. Whether it is climbing Mt Fujiyama and eating paranthas at the summit; inching up forts in the sahyadris with Satya; bungee jumping after a major bypass; cycling on the mumbai highway to get to the airport; rollerblading with 150 children in tow promoting the Bandra festival or simply eating falooda at Elco centre – there is never a dull moment. His childlike enthusiasm is infectious and he can draw even strangers into a spin with him.

Here is his latest, post the Mumbai aftermath. Thank you Reza – for making our lives such fun.

BTW – you can catch all of Reza’s writing on his blog @ jiunapurana.wordpress.com in a few days.  

” NAW…Don’t panic folks…We who are living here were not affected at all….except the poor souls at the tragic scenes in Colaba.  It was their fate. God bless them.

Remember, When your time’s up, nothing will stop you from going….whether from a 5 star deluxe hotel or a roadside cafe like Leopold’s.
And when your time’s NOT up then then nothing will take you away to your heavenly abode.

Ask me…I’ve had countless narrow escapes in my life..
When I had that massive cardiac attack in 1988…my heart had literally stopped and the ECG went flat for some minutes in the ICU till they gave me those high voltage electric shocks…and only after the third attempt did my ticker jump-start back in business.
Albeit firing on three cylinders after quadruple By-Pass surgery in 1989 and yet another plumbing job in 2001.
But what haven’t I done since then..and still do……
Like getting back to flying the 747-400, Sky diving from 15.000 Ft, Bungee jumping from 500 Ft (in NZ), Marathons, Mountain climbing, Rollerblade skating, Cycling, Ballroom dancing…Dubai Desert Rally driving..etc, etc. and I’d like to continue doing all the crazy stuff till I drop… Which could be any day or night…. Singing ‘Don’t worry…be happy’. 
I’ve even got my tombstone ready. It reads: “Here at last rests M.Reza Beg…He died of excitement”
No I’m not trying to show off, but just wanna say “Live life to the full and let the devil take the hindmost”
However, I don’t advise you to do the mad things I do ….but don’t live in fear either.
Actually Mumbai will be most safe  for quite some months after this tragedy.

So C’mon folks…, Follow Braveheart Imre….

Warm regards,

Thou shall not tempt
M.Reza Beg
(M for Mad)”

About Namita

A melange of colors, just like the rainbow. Sometimes, as bright as the yellow sun, brimming with energy. Then driven by the passion of red to pursue my dreams. Calm like the clear blue skies and playful like streaks of violets. I am a collection of stories, each different and yet the same. I am simple in my complexities and something in my nothingness. For my bread and butter, I am a reflexologist – a profession which is more than just a job, it is my passion. When I am not busy in conversation with the feet, I potter around with my camera lens, indulge in good music and snuggle in with my books. And when my energies begin running low, nothing perks me more than traveling to unknown places, meeting all sorts of people and exchanging tall stories. I am a founding trustee of the Uday Public Charitable Trust that hopes to provide the gift of education to children of martyred soldiers and also other deserving children. It is a cause close to my heart. My gypsy heart cannot sit still and I must always move, explore…The mountains call out ever so often and I am off with my backpack. Trek, trek, trek…I want to push my limits always..rediscover my fears and move forward with my strengths. i love myself and my life, I must be god’s favorite child . With much to do and much to see, i am on the brink of another journey, always.
This entry was posted in people and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reza’s Rollercoaster Ride

  1. junapurana says:

    Namita….You make me blush. But thanks anyway for all the nice things you said about me. I owe you another falooda at Elco, Bandra.
    Love to you and Satya.
    Reza

Leave a Reply

