A week’s absence

Its been more than a week since I penned any words. It has been a hectic week, with Satya returning from his last expedition, then the book I am editing and a host of festivities. Navratra and Durga Puja have kept us on our feet – meeting families and friends, fasting and feasting. Today, it has all concluded.

I am also excited about all the work we are achieving on the Institute front. It seems like a few months more and we should have the Reflexology training institute up and running! Already a Basic course in reflexology is underway and its an interesting batch. We have a health worker, a neuro linguistic programmer, a psychologist, a housewife, a masseur, a government servant ( I find the term servant, associated with the government quite funny :))amongst others..For the health worker, it is an effort in unlearning all that she is taught in medical science and to look at the body as a work of art. The psychologist wants to experiment with the marriage of complimentary healing systems with traditional medicine. The NLP guy…wonder how he plans to integrate his current profession with this.

One of my own students is also sitting in, for revision. Got a message from her today saying that her father is addicted to reflexology. The day she doesn’t do his feet, he questions her :). Glad to hear of such responses. Meanwhile, one of the sweet old ladies coming for sessions, is doing splendidly. Her arthritic knee is much better, infact lighter and she has been climbing stairs for the last two days :).

Over time, I have seen people with back aches, cervicals, spondyliosis, diabetes, fissures, acidity, cysts, rare case of anaemia and arthritis. Of course, there are other related problems, and some which cannot be defined. Each day, I pour over my medical dictionary, trying to make sense of terminologies and conditions that people come with. And each day, I learn something new. I think reflexology has added that enthusiasm to my life, of learning anew every time. And Satya is now getting knwoledgeable too, considering I repeat whatever I have learnt, fascinatedly to him. All in all, its a wonderful cycle.

About Namita

A melange of colors, just like the rainbow. Sometimes, as bright as the yellow sun, brimming with energy. Then driven by the passion of red to pursue my dreams. Calm like the clear blue skies and playful like streaks of violets. I am a collection of stories, each different and yet the same. I am simple in my complexities and something in my nothingness. For my bread and butter, I am a reflexologist – a profession which is more than just a job, it is my passion. When I am not busy in conversation with the feet, I potter around with my camera lens, indulge in good music and snuggle in with my books. And when my energies begin running low, nothing perks me more than traveling to unknown places, meeting all sorts of people and exchanging tall stories. I am a founding trustee of the Uday Public Charitable Trust that hopes to provide the gift of education to children of martyred soldiers and also other deserving children. It is a cause close to my heart. My gypsy heart cannot sit still and I must always move, explore…The mountains call out ever so often and I am off with my backpack. Trek, trek, trek…I want to push my limits always..rediscover my fears and move forward with my strengths. i love myself and my life, I must be god’s favorite child . With much to do and much to see, i am on the brink of another journey, always.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneuos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

